Trip Ideas

Heritage & Culture

Tobago's fascinating history is reflected in the island's rich and diverse heritage and culture. It changed hands more times than any other Caribbean island, with the English, French, Dutch and even Courlanders (Latvians) fighting for control.

Now it's time for you to discover Tobago for yourselves.

 

 

  • Forts of Tobago 

Fort King George and Tobago Museum - The main fort in Tobago is on top of the hill overlooking Scarborough. It was built in 1804 and named after King George III. The site includes an old chapel, cell block, military cemetery and powder house. Inside the Barrack Guard House is the Tobago Museum which displays the history of Tobago's early Amerindian era and colonial days.

Location: Uptown . Scarborough . Tobago .

Fort Milford - This fort was built by the British in 1777. The remains of a few crumbling walls and canons can be seen set in beautifully manicured gardens.

Location: Store Bay Local Road . Crown Point . Tobago .

Fort Bennett - Now a beautiful lookout point over Stonehaven Bay, Fort Bennett was built by an English mercenary, Lft Robert Bennett in 1680. In less than a year he had been driven from the island by Indians. A battery was established here in 1778 by the British. The remains of an oven used for heating shot can still be seen.

Location: Stonehaven Bay Road . Black Rock . Tobago .

Fort James - Lying at the far end of Plymouth, this is one of the oldest forts on Tobago. It still has one of the original buildings and cannons.

Location: Plymouth . Tobago .

Fort Granby - Built around 1765 to protect the short-lived first capital of Tobago Georgetown. Fort Granby is the second oldest fort on the island and the first British fortification. Not much remains of the original fort although the grounds have become a labyrinth of interwoven trees. Nearby lies the gravestone of a British soldier, James Clarke, who died in 1772.

Location: Studly Park . Tobago .

Cambleton Battery - Just outside Charlotteville, Cambleton Battery was built in the 1770s by the British to safeguard the village and prevent American privateers from raiding British sugar interests. The guards on duty at the battery would be signalled by mirror from Flagstaff Hill.

Location: Charlotteville . Tobago .

Flagstaff Hill: One of the highest points in the north east of the island. It was the site of an American lookout and radio tower during the Second World War. Great for the amazing views of St Giles Island and Charlotteville.

Location: Charlotteville . Tobago .

 

  • Waterwheel

Speyside Waterwheel and Sugar Factory - Ruins beside the bridge on the road to the Blue Waters Inn.

Location: Speyside . Tobago .

 

  • Estate

Website: http://tobagococoa.com 
Email: info@tobagococoa.com
Contact Information: (868) 788-3971; Mobile: (868) 390-2021

Location: #62 Fort Street . Scarborough . Tobago .

Tobago Cocoa Estate W.I Limited - This is a cocoa estate planted exclusively with Trinitario cocoa (TSH) fine or flavour cocoa. Secondly, the Tobago Cocoa Estate W.I. Ltd is a heritage park where visitors can learn about the history of cocoa in Tobago, see historical displays and participate in the fermentation and drying activities at the estate. Finally, the visitor will experiences the agro-culinary approach to tourism and participate in a rum and chocolate tasting session after an evening of dinner that showcases the local cuisine of Tobago.

Arnos Vale - A former sugar estate, there is still the remains of the waterwheel that powered the estate's mill, an Amerindian site, an old slave village and nature trails.

 

  • Plantation House

Richmond Great House - This is a carefully preserved 18th century plantation home. The Richmond House and estate date from 1766 and were owned by a succession of Englishmen until 1973. Before the collapse of the sugar industry in 1884-1886, sugar cane was cultivated on the estate used for the manufacturing of sugar, molasses and rum. Now houses an extensive collection of African art.

Location: Richmond Village . Tobago . 

 

  • Thombstone & Grave Site

Golden Lane The Witch's Grave - One of Tobago's most famous legends. Gang Gang Sarah is believed to have flown from Africa to Tobago in the 18th century. She landed at Les Coteaux and moved to Golden Lane, where she became the village midwife. She died after trying to fly home from the top of a silk cotton tree, forgetting that eating salt had left her with the inability to fly. The cemetery contains the body of Sarah, her husband and Grandpa Peter, a white English slavemaster who lived in Nigeria. The unmarked tombs have been there for nearly two centuries.

Location: Les Coteaux . Tobago .

The Mystery Tombstone - the tombstone was erected in 1783 in memory of Betty Stiven. The mysterious inscription has baffled interpretation ever since.

Located: Plymouth . Tobago .

Courland Monument - Built to honor the early settlers to Plymouth who came from Courland. It was unveiled in 1976 during a cultural visit by Courlanders in exile from various parts of the world.

Location: Plymouth . Tobago . 

 

  • Museum

 

Kimme Museum - This is the workshop and gallery of German-born sculpture Luise Kimme. It houses a collection of 100 life-size wooden sculptures, carved from oak trees which she roughed out in the German forest and then shipped to Tobago for completion. Bronze casts are made from the wooden originals. Open Sundays 10am-2pm.

Location: Bethel . Tobago .

 

  • The Cave

Robinson Crusoe's Cave - Tobago is believed to be the home of literature's most famous marooned mariner; Robinson Crusoe. Visitors to Crown Point can, for a small fee, see Crusoe's Cave. The purported shelter of Crusoe during his fictitious sojourn on the island.

Location: Crown Point . Tobago .